Available EditionsClose Window
« Global Newsroom
Close Window
Leader Biography

Elder L. Whitney Clayton

Elder L. Whitney Clayton was sustained as a member of the First Quorum of the Seventy of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints on March 31, 2001.  He has served as a member of the Presidency of the Seventy since 2008 and has supervisory responsibility for the Utah North, Utah Salt Lake City, and Utah South Areas. He assists Elder David A. Bednar of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles in supervising the Africa Southeast and Africa West Areas. He also serves as a member of the Public Affairs Committee.

Elder Clayton served as a counselor in the South America South Area Presidency in 2002-2003 and as president during 2003-2006, while living in Buenos Aires, Argentina.  He previously served as an Area Seventy for the North America West Area for six years.

Elder Clayton was a business litigation attorney with Call, Clayton & Jensen, in Newport Beach, California, from 1981-2001. He earned a bachelor’s degree in finance at the University of Utah and a law degree at the University of the Pacific.

He has served the Church as a regional representative, mission president’s counselor, stake high councilor, bishop, stake mission president, and gospel doctrine teacher. He served as a full-time missionary in Peru in 1970-1971.

Elder Clayton was born in Salt Lake City, Utah in 1950.  He married Kathy Ann Kipp on August 9, 1973 in the Salt Lake Temple. They are parents of seven children and grandparents of eighteen grandchildren.

Style Guide Note: When reporting about The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, please use the complete name of the Church in the first reference. For more information on the use of the name of the Church, go to our online style guide.

Social Sharing Options

Recently posted to your Facebook Timeline: Learn More

Disable All Facebook Sharing

By proceeding, you agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Policy

Additional Resources

Related Topics

Presidency of the Seventy

Presidency of the Seventy

The Presidency of the Seventy consists of seven members of the First or Second Quorum of the Seventy who are called by the First Presidency and are given authority to preside over the Quorums of the Seventy.

Read More »
More Topics ►